mostly haikus by nick krefting

hundred word wednesday – “Voice”

In Hundred Word Wednesdays on August 24, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Well technically 95 words I guess. I present a fable with no lesson.

She was 16 when she first heard the Voice. But she was making out with her new boyfriend, and rather enjoying herself, so she paid it no mind.

The second time, she was 28. Nursing her firstborn and angered by the Voice’s intrusion into her private moment, she shut it out.

The third time, she was 45. Mostly curious, she responded. “I have three children and have led a good and honest life. What could you want from me now?”

The Voice replied. “Would you believe it if I told you I was just lonely?”

  1. I like this one, it’s sweet.

Leave a Reply

