mostly haikus by nick krefting

hundred word wednesday – “dave”

In Hundred Word Wednesdays on October 13, 2010 at 12:46 pm

This week’s hundred words are dedicated to Danny, who knows the true power of this particular Dave.

Today I’m issuing a more specific challenge to my 100-word writers.  No stories, per se, no plot arcs. Just create a character in 95-100 words.  See mine for an example. Have fun, and fill up those comments!

I have been waiting for this day for 10 months. The gym is set up just how I remembered. This is where I honed my craft, where I truly belong. These soft foam balls, the goal marked out on the baseline, the coup-de-grâce that the basketball hoop itself represents. This is the sport I was born to play. 8 periods out of the day, I am just another high schooler. But as soon as that whistle blows, all in this class will know my True Name.

My name is Dave, and I am the Handball King.

  1. Dave always leaves everything he has on the court.

  2. Although an inspiring idea, I am feeling uninspired. Maybe my muse left, along with the tattered remnants of my youth. I’m going to come back to this when an idea strikes.

Leave a Reply

